Provence CHATEAU ASPRAS

Winegrower's portrait

CHATEAU ASPRAS - BIOtiful wines

At the entrance of the Gorges Bagorèse, on the right bank of the Argens, a river with enchanting turquoise blue reflections, overhung by beautiful steep cliffs, is Correns, a village in the Provence countryside, far away from major roads. A few miles away is located the Château Aspras that tells a beautiful story about the meeting between a family and a terroir : 50 years ago, Gottfried and Lisa Latz left the Belgian Congo, landed in the south of France and settled in Correns in Provence where they discovered their passion for wine. The family shortly bought some parcels of vines and during many years sold the grapes to the negoce. In 1971, when Michael Latz, agricultural engineer by training, joined his widowed mom tohelp, the first bottles were marketed and Château Aspras was born. Today, Michael is helped by his 3 sons Raphael, Alexandre and Sébastien : "les 3 frères". Robert Nourrisson, vineyard manager, left the neighbor Miraval to work the terroir of Aspras and move to the biodynamy.


Aspras honors this exceptional terroir with secular fame, whose Benedictine monks of Montmajour had already acknowledged the unique wine growing potential in the 13th century. The limestone hills that surround the area gave it its name "asper" - (aspera, rockery in Latin).
Today, 95% of this land is farmed organically farming, an initiative of Mayor Michael Latz , who gathered citizens of Correns in early 1995. Today, the village of Correns is the 1st ORGANIC village of France, stands out for its militant commitment to preserve biodiversity and offer a quality of life to its inhabitants by favoring the collective spirit of solidarity with local actors.

The Château Aspras takes the Latz family's motto : "Know thyself" (te ipsum nosce). The work of their soil and in their cellar is guided by the determination to product organic wines with a true reflection of ithe estate's exceptionnal terroir.


Symbol of strength and beauty, the Unicorn invites us to go a few steps further on the path that leads to wisdom. It's a beautiful journey that offers the tasting of these great wines...

Domain's presentation

Family estate since 3 generations

Location : in Provence at Correns, first ORGANIC village of France

Founding member of ORGANIC CITIES EUROPE NETWORKwith pioneers likeVienna (Austria), Nuremberg (Germany), Vaxjo (Sweden) and Paris.

Area : 32 hectars

Use of vineyard: organic farming since 1996 (Ecocert) with biodynamic practices, the compost is made from their own cattle and sheep manure, some plots are worked on horseback and some sheeps weed naturally the vines
the harvest is manual at 60%

Grapes : BLUSH Grenache, cinsault, rolle / RED syrah, grenache, cabernet sauvignon, merlot / WHITE rolle, vieux ugni blanc (+30 years old)

Agriculture Bio - BIOtiful wines
CHATEAU ASPRAS - BIOtiful wines

Press review and awards

91/100 WINE ADVOCATE (Robert Parker) : Rosé 3 Frères 2020
91/100 DECANTER : Tomarès rosé 2020

Selected among the 50 best wines at Vinexpo Paris 2020 by a jury composed of some of the Best Sommeliers of the World
Terre de Vins, la Revue des vins de France, Le Parisien, Var-Matin...
Wines served at Carlton (Cannes) and Palm Beach (Monte-Carlo)

Gold medals at Concours Générale Agricole de Paris, Concours des Grands Vins de Mâcon, Concours Mondial du Rosé, Concours des Vins de Provence de St Tropez, Concours Challenge Millésime Bio

Provence CHATEAU ASPRAS

Portrait de vigneron

CHATEAU ASPRAS - BIOtiful wines

A l'entrée des Gorges de Bagorèse, sur la rive droite de l'Argens, une rivière enchanteresse aux reflets bleus turquoises surplombée par de superbes falaises abruptes, se trouve Correns, une village perdu dans la campagne provençale, en dehors des routes nationales.

A quelques kilomètres de là, le Château Aspras qui raconte une belle histoire, celle d'une rencontre entre une famille et un terroir. Il y a 50 ans, Gottfried et Lisa Latz quittent le Congo belge, débarquent dans le sud de la France et s'installent à Correns en Provence où ils découvrent et se passionnent pour le vin. La famille achète alors quelques parcelles de vignes dont les raisins qu'elles produisent sont vendus au négoce. En 1971, quand Michael Latz, ingénieur agronome de formation, rejoint sa maman devenue veuve pour l'épauler, les premières bouteilles sont commercialisées et le domaine des Aspras voit le jour. Aujourd'hui, Michael est assisté de ses trois fils Raphael, Alexandre et Sébastien : "Les 3 Frères". Robert Nourrisson, chef de culture, a quitté leur voisin Miraval pour s'occuper du vignoble et le travailler en biodynamie.

Aspras rend hommage à ce terroir exceptionnel de renommée séculaire, dont les moines de Montmajour avaient déjà salué le potentiel viticole hors du commun au 13ème siècle. Les collines calcaires à terre blanche qui l'entourent lui ont donné son nom d'asper-aspera, la rocaille en latin.
Ce terroir est cultivé en agriculture biologique, aujourd'hui à 95%. Une initiative du maire, Michael Latz, qui, dès 1995, a rassemblé les habitants de son village : Correns, 1er village BIO de France, se distingue par son engagement militant pour préserver la biodiversité et offrir une qualité de vie à ses habitants en privilégiant l'esprit collectif et solidaire des acteurs locaux.

Le Château Aspras reprend la devise de la famille Latz : "Connais-toi toi-même" (nosce te ipsum). Son travail sur la terre et au chai est guidé par la volonté que les vins biologiques qu'il produit soient le plus juste reflet de la terre d'exception qui les voit naître.

Symbole de force et beauté, la Licorne nous invite à parcourir quelques pas de plus sur le chemin qui mène à la sagesse. C'est un beau voyage que nous offre la dégustation de ces grands vins, très confidentiels...

Présentation du domaine

Propriété familiale depuis 3 générations

Localisation : en Provence à Correns, 1er village BIO de France

Membre fondateur du ORGANIC CITIES EUROPE NETWORK avec les villes pionnières telles que Vienne (Autriche), Nuremberg (Allemagne), Vaxjo (Suède) et Paris.

Superficie : 32 hectares

Conduite du vignoble : agriculture biologique depuis 1996 (Ecocert) avec pratiques biodynamiques, le compost est préparé sur place à base de fumier de bovin et d'ovin, certaines parcelles sont travaillées à cheval et quelques moutons désherbent naturellement les vignes , les vendanges sont manuelles à 60%

Cépages : ROSE Grenache, cinsault, rolle / ROUGE syrah, grenache, cabernet sauvignon, merlot / BLANC rolle, vieux ugni blanc (+30 ans)

Agriculture Bio - BIOtiful wines
CHATEAU ASPRAS - BIOtiful wines

Revue de presse et concours

91/100 WINE ADVOCATE (Robert Parker) : Rosé 3 Frères 2020
91/100 DECANTER : Tomarès rosé 2020

Vins servis au Carlton (Cannes) et Palm Beach (Monte-Carlo)

Terre de Vins, la Revue des vins de France, Le Parisien, Var-Matin...

Sélectionné parmi les 50 meilleurs vins de Vinexpo Paris 2020 par un jury composé des Meilleurs Sommeliers du Monde

Médailles d'Or au Concours Générale Agricole de Paris, Concours des Grands Vins de Mâcon, Concours Mondial du Rosé, Concours des Vins de Provence de St Tropez, Concours Challenge Millésime Bio